Have you ever had the revolutionary idea of starting a hardcore diet that will “change” your life? Yeah, me too. It’s amazing how great they turn out too! You start out with an optimistic attitude and the only thing you think about is how good you are doing. You’ve been doing it with no mistakes for about 2 weeks and then a birthday, holiday or family reunion steps in. This is where it all goes down. You make the excuse that “Its a holiday! It would be unseasonal if I didn’t participate. I’m not going to be the party pooper.” or “well…I’ll just have one slice”. These are just a few things that have run through my head hundreds of times during these exact situations.

Now, I’m not in any way saying that I need to lose weight…cause I definitely don’t. I just feel better eating healthier, and it gives me something to be disciplined at. Through the holiday the past few days I have experienced the thoughts I talked about. And unfortunately I failed my attempt to eating “right”.

Here’s what I try to keep in mind when trying to eat healthy or workout consistently. Instead of having the mindset of “I need to loose 15 pounds for the cruise”, think more like “I need to eat healthier so I’ll feel better all the time and be satisfied with myself”. The goal does not need to be set for an “event”, but more so a “lifestyle”.

Conclusion: When holidays or “special events” come up, pretend it’s just like any other day. (Unless you have the best self-control in the world). Don’t have event-based goals and set healthy eating goals as a lifestyle choice. You’ll feel better physically and about yourself in general.


